Psycho Killer – Qu’est-ce que c’est?

We don’t know Mr. Wickham to be a killer, but he certainly seems to be, in 21st century terms, a little psycho. Some of interpersonal and behavioral characteristics he has are:

 

  • Unconcern for the feelings of others/Lack of empathy
  • Disregard for social rules, regulations and norms
  • Incapacity to maintain long-term relationships
  • Incapacity to suffer from guilt
  • Prone to blaming others/Offer rationalizations for behaviors

I love his initial conversation with Elizabeth (Volume I, Chapter 16), simply for all the falsehoods he strings together. Here are some great tidbits:

  • “Oh! no — it is not for me to be driven away by Mr. Darcy. If he wishes to avoid seeing me, he must go. ” [and he later leaves for London to avoid the Netherfield Ball]
  • “His behaviour to myself has been scandalous; but I verily believe I could forgive him anything and everything…” [Darcy has not been the least bit scandalous to Wickham; rather, the other way round!]
  •  “But I verily believe I could forgive him [Darcy] anything and everything…” [a.) Wickham has nothing to forgive Darcy of and, b.) Wickham has not done any forgiving]
  • “The church ought to have been my profession — I was brought up for the church…” [I wonder if he was worried about his church profession when he took Darcy’s money!?]
  • “A man of honour could not have doubted the intention [to give Wickham a living in the church], but Mr. Darcy chose to doubt it.” [Darcy only doubted it when Wickham told him he had not intention for a life in the church.]
  • “Till I can forget his father, I can never defy or expose him [Darcy].” [Excuse me? All he has done in Hertfordshire is defy and expose Darcy!]

 

Leave a Reply

